Boston

The Northeast region of the United States is among the most innovative ones in the country

The Northeast region of the United States is among the most innovative ones in the country.

A 2018 study conducted by the Milken Institute indicated that Massachusetts and New York were among the most innovative states in the US, ranking first and sixteenth, respectively. The four pillars of the Northeastern innovation economy are as follows: 1- academic excellence, 2- labor force education level, 3- state investments, 4- favorable environments for the emergence of startups.
The Northeast region of the US is home to some of the most prestigious academic institutions in the world, including those such as Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Columbia, Cornell, and Yale, and furthermore represents over a quarter of the American university potential.

Massachusetts in particular, is a national medical hub, consisting of the country’s most well-renowned hospitals, two of which are ranked in the U.S. News’s “Top 20 U.S. Hospitals (Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital).” The health sector generates 13.6% of jobs (2014), or 50,000 people, including about 6,000 experienced researchers in the Life Sciences (LSS) sector. By capitalizing upon the dynamism of this sector, Boston and surrounding cities have built a powerful ecosystem to support the emergence of startups, composed of incubators (31), accelerators (17), co-working spaces (42) and creative spaces (25). Many bostonian institutions are reputable worldwide, such as GreenTown labs (the largest American incubator in the cleantech field), LabCentral (specialized in life sciences and biotechnologies), MassChallenge or Massrobotics (specialized in robotics). In 2018, Massachusetts start-ups raised $12 billion, demonstrating the strength of economic actors in this region.

New York is not to be outdone - the current state governor plans to invest $204 million to revitalize the health sector, $77.7 million of which will go to New York City. In 2018, New York adopted an LSS initiative promising to invest $620 million in Tax Credits and financial or real estate support, to develop its ecosystem around this area. This initiative was complemented in 2017 by a promise from the mayor of New York City to invest $500 million in this sector over ten years. These massive investments are transforming New York City by allowing the installation of incubators, accelerators and technology companies. New York has thus become an important player in biotech and fintech. The world’s tech giants also have offices in this multicultural metropolis: Microsoft, Comcast, Oracle, Amazon... New York State also attracts young entrepreneurs: 9% of companies in New York City are start-ups, which create 17% of jobs. It is the second city in the world with the largest number of unicorns, after San Francisco, with WeWork, Infor and AppNexus for example. In 2017, New York companies received $11.5 billion in venture capital. A study conducted by Dell suggests that New York attracts and encourages the most high-potential female entrepreneurs in the world (Boston is fourth in this ranking, Paris is twelfth).
Located between these two innovation giants, Rhode Island is a small state that intends to follow in the footsteps of its neighbors by making significant investments to support innovation, particularly around Brown University.

More French start-ups are therefore setting up in regions ranging from Boston to New York, due not only to the attractiveness of this geographical area but also for their proximity to France. This phenomenon led to the creation of the French Tech NYC community in 2017 and French Tech Boston last year, which facilitate the integration of French startups into the American market.

The attractiveness as well as the economic and scientific importance of major regions (Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York) in the Northeastern corridor of the U.S. is recognized throughout the world, and presents many opportunities for start-ups wishing to develop in the United States.

Twitter @Netva_fr

Boston

La région Nord-Est des Etats-Unis est l’une des plus innovantes du pays

Les Etats du Massachusetts et de New-York font partie des plus innovants des Etats-Unis ; d’après une étude menée en 2018 par le Milken Institute, ils se positionnent respectivement à la 1ère et la 16ème place du classement américain. Les quatre piliers de cette économie de l’innovation sur côte Nord-Est des Etats-Unis sont : 1- l’excellence académique, 2- le niveau d’éducation de la population active, 3- un investissement important des Etats, 4- un environnement extrêmement favorable à l’émergence des startups.
La région Nord-Est des Etats-Unis compte en effet parmi les plus prestigieuses universités et institutions au monde (Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Columbia, Cornell, Yale, etc.), soit plus du quart du potentiel universitaire américain.
Le Massachusetts en particulier est le centre national du médical avec les hôpitaux les plus réputés du pays et deux hôpitaux classés dans les 20 premiers des Etats-Unis (Massachusetts General Hospital et Brigham and Women’s Hospital) par le U.S. News and World Report. Le domaine de la santé générait ainsi 13,6% des emplois (2014) soit 50 000 personnes, dont environ 6 000 chercheurs confirmés dans le domaine des Sciences de la Vie (SDV). En capitalisant sur le dynamisme de ce secteur, Boston et les villes avoisinantes ont bâti un puissant écosystème de soutien à l’émergence de startups, composé d’incubateurs (31), accélérateurs (17), espaces de co-working (42) et espaces de création (25). On peut remarquer la notoriété d’établissements tels que les incubateurs GreenTown labs (plus grand incubateur américain dans le domaine de la cleantech), LabCentral (spécialisé dans les sciences de la vie et les biotechnologies), MassChallenge ou Massrobotics (spécialisé dans la robotique). En 2018, les start-ups du Massachusetts ont levé $12 milliards, preuve de la force des acteurs économiques dans cette région.
New-York n’est pas en reste – le gouverneur actuel de l’état prévoit un investissement $204 millions pour redynamiser le secteur de la santé, dont $77.7 millions seront destinés à la ville de NYC seule. En 2018, l’état de New-York a adopté une initiative en faveur des SDV promettant d’investir de $620 millions en Tax Credit, dispositifs de soutien financiers ou immobiliers pour développer son écosystème autour de ce domaine. Cette initiative a été abondée en 2017 par une promesse du maire de la ville de New-York d’investir $500 millions dans ce secteur sur dix ans. Ces investissements massifs transforment New-York permettant l’installation d’incubateurs, d’accélérateurs et d’entreprises technologiques. New York est ainsi devenu un acteur important de la biotech, et des fintechs. Les géants mondiaux ont également des bureaux dans cette métropole multiculturelle : Microsoft, Comcast, Oracle, Amazon… L’état de New-York attire également les jeunes entrepreneurs : 9% des entreprises dans la ville de New-York sont des start-ups, qui créent 17% des emplois. Elle est la deuxième ville hébergeant le plus de « licornes » au monde, après San Francisco, avec par exemple WeWork, Infor et AppNexus. En 2017, les entreprises de New-York recevaient $11,5 milliards en venture capital. Une étude menée par la société Dell suggère que New-York est la ville qui attire et encourage le plus de femmes entrepreneures à haut potentiel au monde (Boston est quatrième dans ce classement, Paris est douzième).
Située entre ces deux géants de l’innovation, le Rhode island est un petit état qui compte suivre la trace de ses voisins en consacrant des investissements importants pour soutenir l’innovation autour notamment de son université d’excellence, Brown university.

De plus en plus de start-ups françaises s’installent donc dans une région allant de Boston à New-York, en raison de l’attractivité de cette zone géographique mais aussi de sa faible distance géographique relative avec la France. Ce phénomène a donné lieu à la création de la communauté French Tech NYC en 2017 et de French Tech Boston depuis l’an dernier, qui facilitent l’intégration de start-ups françaises dans le marché américain.
L’attractivité et l’importance économique et scientifique de régions majeures (Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York) dans le corridor Nord-Est des Etats-Unis est reconnue à travers le monde, et présente de nombreuses opportunités pour des start-ups désirant se développer aux Etats-Unis.

Twitter @Netva_fr