San Francisco

A true economic power

In 2017, California ranked fifth in the world in terms of economic wealth, and the San Francisco Bay Area, which encompasses both the city of San Francisco, Berkeley in the East Bay, and the Silicon Valley itself, in the south bay remains more than ever the epicenter of technology, with the cohabitation of information technology giants spanning four successive generations: the "the founding fathers” (HP, Intel), the "elders" (IBM, Apple, Oracle), the "mature" (Google, Facebook, Amazon), and the "new" (Twitter, Netflix, Uber).

Innovation

The Bay Area brings together all the essential players in any effective innovation ecosystem, elite universities and private investors, specialized law firms, a myriad of support services specializing in technology startups (HR, design, banks, accelerators, media). It is also one of the few places on the planet that manages to generate innovation in fields as diverse as energy and transportation, biotechnology and connected health, digital recreation, educational systems, marine technologies or financial innovation.

This immense concentration of innovation is accompanied by an extraordinary entrepreneurial dynamism, and the region is witness to the birth of several thousand new startups that incorporate emerging technologies each year. Despite the cost of living, transportation difficulties and the cyclical risks of bursting technological bubbles, the Bay Area continues to act as a magnet for cohorts of young entrepreneurs from many countries around the world.

Taming and penetrating the ecosystem

The NETVA laureates in San Francisco will have the opportunity to understand the workings of this unique machine that has continued to produce innovation for over 80 years. The program’s various stakeholders will highlight the unique characteristics of the "Valley culture" and will address some of the issues that are sometimes overlooked (the role of some specialized providers, the importance of digital platforms and contract services, the importance of diasporas). The winners will be able to obtain high quality meetings with technology partners, investors, academic specialists and professional observers within their market segment.

Twitter @Netva_fr

San Francisco

Une véritable puissance économique

La Californie a accédé en 2017 au 5ème rang sur l’échelle mondiale de la richesse économique, et la « Bay Area », qui englobe à la fois la ville de San Francisco, la rive Est de la Baie à partir de Berkeley, et la Silicon Valley à proprement parler, en reste plus que jamais l’épicentre technologique, avec la cohabitation de quatre générations successives de géants des technologies de l’information : les « grands anciens » (HP, Intel), les « anciens » (IBM, Apple, Oracle), les « matures » (Google, Facebook, Amazon), les « nouveaux » (Twitter, Netflix, Uber).

L’innovation

La Bay Area rassemble l’ensemble des acteurs indispensables à tout écosystème d’innovation efficace, des universités d’élite et des investisseurs privés, des cabinets d’avocats spécialisés, une myriade de services d’accompagnement spécialisés dans les startups de technologies (RH, design, banques, accélérateurs, médias). C’est également un des rares lieux de la planète qui parvient à générer de l’innovation dans des domaines aussi variés que l’énergie et les transports, les biotechnologies et la santé connectée, les loisirs numériques, les systèmes d’enseignement, les technologies marines ou l’innovation financière.
Cette grande concentration d’innovation s’accompagne d’un dynamisme entrepreneurial hors du commun, et la région voit naître chaque année plusieurs milliers de jeunes pousses incorporant des technologies émergentes. Malgré le coût de la vie, les difficultés de transport et les risques cycliques d’éclatement de bulles technologiques, la Bay Area continue d’agir comme un aimant pour des cohortes de jeunes entrepreneurs de nombreux pays du monde.

Apprivoiser et pénétrer l’écosystème

Les lauréats NETVA à San Francisco auront la possibilité de comprendre le fonctionnement de cette machine unique à produire continument de l’innovation depuis 80 ans. Les divers intervenants du programme souligneront les caractéristiques si particulières de la « culture de la Valley » et permettront d’aborder certains volets parfois laissés sous silence (le rôle de certains prestataires spécialisés, l’importance des plateformes numériques et des services à façon, l’importance des diasporas). Les lauréats pourront obtenir des rendez-vous qualifiés avec des partenaires technologiques, des investisseurs, des spécialistes académiques, des observateurs professionnels de leur segment marché.

Twitter @Netva_fr